“Gesture #37” and Creative Addiction?

Gesture #37 (sold)
12″ x 8.75″
oil on panel
©2010 Tracy Wall

Last post I talked about a possible physiological explanation for an addiction to our digital connections.   The excitement of connecting by getting those e-mails, texts or comments and responses stimulates a dopamine/adrenaline high, causing you to crave even more digital connections.   (Not saying that we’re helpless from choosing whether or not to act on them.)

I think everyone to some degree craves connections (digital or otherwise) via peer groups, romantic relationships, or work associations.  We like to recognize, “hey, that’s like me!” in someone else.

As one who works alone a good amount of the time, I’ve always known that building connections gives me a rush.  I imagine that’s got to do with why I paint: striving for the connection to the viewer.  Or, for that matter, why anyone creates: connecting to the viewer, the reader, the listener.

So do we create to fulfill a similar addiction, or is it just when the creative results are shared and experienced by others?

Does the creative process (i.e. creating the opportunity to build connections) potentially increase/stimulate dopamine production to give me a high?  Does it cause me to crave the creative process thus making painting addictive?

Deep thoughts from a scattered mind this evening.
Just delaying the inevitable.  Gotta go face a tough painting.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, Figures, My Art, Painting, That's Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Gesture #37” and Creative Addiction?

  1. Carol D Nelson says:

    Good one, Tracy. Lots of movement. Good brushwork.

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Carol.
    Been working on loosening up and letting the brushwork express that movement. Thanks for noticing!

Comments are closed.