“Unleashed in January” and Word of the Year

16 UnleashedinJanuary_12x16_ (c)TLW sm copy

Unleashed in January
12″ x 16″
oil on cradled panel
©TracyWall

My birthday was a few weeks ago; spent it with little fanfare, but hung out with the coolest roommates ever!  Thought I’d post this as it’s snowing again in Denver.  In May.

With a birthday, ‘introspective me’ can’t help but spend time reflecting on how my last year has been spent and how I’d like to see the next year unfold.  Lots of fabulous things experienced, but lots of new avenues calling too.

After a little soul-searching, I missed having the guidepost of my “Word of the Year”.

A little background:
I first came upon a “Word of the Year” from Christine Kane in 2009.  In a nutshell: with the New Year, many create a list of achievement goals (aka New Years Resolutions).  Resolutions set you up for either winning or losing with no acknowledgement for partial growth.  A “Word of the Year” offers a theme, a guidepost to  hold onto for the year encourage me take action.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about aiming high with measurable goals.  But for times of frustration or indecision, it’s helpful to find a theme/word to remind and steer me where I want to go.

As I ponder my 2016 Word of the Year, I look back to see where I’ve been, what have been my stumbling blocks, and where I’d like to go. What specific struggles did I have and what might help to overcome.

Looking at all the words from previous years, darn they so similar.  In previous years, I’ve chosen “leap”,  adventurous”, “balance”, “vision”, “let go”, and “action”.

Doesn’t take a linguist to see they’re all hovering over a similar theme.  Guess I haven’t grown in some areas as much as I had hoped.  I still feel like I’m treading water never going anywhere.

Not that I feel like anyone has held me back.  Quite the opposite.  I’ve had many encouraging and offering opportunity.

The only thing that has restricted me is my own “overthinking”:My own thoughts of what I should do, what is supposed to look right, what the pundits say…
All self-inflicted.

Time for me to explore.  Reach for the things I love best and are meaningful to me.

So throughout the year, I’m going to play more.   Just relax and have fun with my work no matter what the outcome.

You may or may not notice difference in my art.  But I have a feeling it’s going to be different  inside of me.  Live a little, lighten up, and laugh a lot.

Experience life unleashed.

My 2016 Word of the Year: Unleashed.

Stay tuned!

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in ! My Website !, Animal art, Colorado, Dogs, Goals, My Art, That's Life, Unleashed and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Unleashed in January” and Word of the Year

  1. lizamyers says:

    Your shadows and light are fabulous! And the word of the year is very powerful. My word of this year is Maintenant… which means several things to me… In french it means NOW! It’s to remind me not to procrastinate. But it also means “having hands, “or at least that’s my interpretation of the roots of the word.. So for me it means that I have hands to get things done NOW! According to our friend wikipedia it means residing in your hands or being a tenant of your hands. That works for me too.

  2. Tracy Wall says:

    Liza, thank you!! (sorry, I missed this response)
    Interesting word, the multiple meaning thing is helpful with Word of the Year. Good Luck with your endeavors!

Leave a Reply

