Ch-ch-ch-changes – “Chutes & Ladders Transform”

Chutes & Ladders Transform (c)TLW - tiny copy

Chutes & Ladders Transform
36″ x 48″
oil on gallery-wrapped canvas
©2014 Tracy Wall

Yikes!  Need to catch up on here!
I may have been absent, but I feel like I’ve been so busy!  It’s time to catch up.

This is my most recent commission created for Children’s Hospital Colorado delivered in July.  It’s a pretty hefty size for me measuring in at 3 feet x 4 feet .

As a play on the children’s game Chutes & Ladders, these Colorado frogs identify with the up’s and down’s of life.  In many cultures, frogs represent change and transformation as they grow from tadpole to frog.

The lesson for me is this: Metamorphosis is crucial for survival.  Whether it’s adults reinventing themselves later in life, frogs maturing from water to land, or kids dealing with growing up and facing health/developmental challenges, we all need to roll with the punches and learn to adapt to changes as they occur.

As much as I love variety in my life, making changes is hard for me too!  Changes in schedule, changes in daily activities, changes in diet… I ss-s-st-t-t-t-tr-r-r-uuuuuuuuuuuu-gle.  Funny how I love trying new things, yet find change in daily life so challenging.

Forever the pull/push: a creature of habit that loves variety.

 

 

 

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Animal art, Colorado, Creative Process, Exhibits, My Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.