“Tall Draft” and 2014 Word of the Year: Leap

Tall Draft, 36"x36", ©Tracy Wall

Tall Draft
36″ x 36″
oil on gallery-wrapped canvas
© Tracy Wall

Now on to my Word of the Year (see previous post)
At this time, I’ve been feeling like I’m at a plateau.  The story of this painting can help show what I mean…

I was painting some small paintings to exhibit in a miniatures show (all works 8″x10″ or smaller).  Usually I paint on a brightly toned canvas or board allowing little bits of the base color to splash through.

So I was painting this blue grey draft horse on an orange canvas and what often happens after I paint the subject happened again: I end up liking the super crazy loud vivid screaming bright color in the background.

Now usually I acquiesce, saying to myself “yeah, right, like anyone is going to want that LOUD of a color on their wall”, and instead paint an equally interesting color, though a bit more traditional and subdued to hide all but just bits of the bright one behind.

But….., but  I really liked this bright orange/yellow on this one. I liked how it competed with the duller colors of the interesting subject.

Grey Draft ©Tracy Wall

Grey Draft, 8″x8″, ©Tracy Wall, (sold)

So I took a leap:
Ok, forget what people might think.  It’s just a small little 8×8 piece, I justified to myself.  Take a chance; go where my rebel gut was asking, “what if….?”

So I did.  I took a leap of faith.  I kept this crazy loud yellow orange around this traditional grey horse.  And I still liked it!

Well, it sold before the exhibit even opened.  Then a second collector saw it waiting in the gallery and wanted one as well.  So I painted another.  Then I super-sized it more than 4x the original size, and that third version is still awaiting a new home. (painting at the top of this post)

Lesson: go with my gut.  Take a leap.

I was thrilled with the excitement and self-growth of taking a leap of faith.  Some may see it as a very small leap, barely even a step.  For me, it was still a leap: not just in color but in trusting myself.  And that growth is what I’ve been looking for to get off of this self-labelled plateau.  ** POP! **  Just the spark I was looking for.

In 2014, Leap will be my Word of the Year.  Watch for my leaps!

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Adventurous, Animal art, Balanced Vision, Creative Process, Figures, Horses, Leap, Let It Go, My Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.