“Colorful Cowboy” and What’s my 2014 Word of the Year?

Colorful Cowboy, ©Tracy Wall

Colorful Cowboy
18″ x 14″
oil on canvas
© Tracy Wall

This one, inspired by the annual Stock Show and Rodeo here in Denver, is a remake of an older painting.  (I’m much older and wiser now, right?)  I’ll always love the cowboy take on this classic Greek pose.

As I ponder my 2014 Word of the Year, I look back to see where I’ve been, what have been stumbling blocks, and where I’d like to go.

A little background, I first came upon a “Word of the Year” from Christine Kane.  Instead of a list of goals to achieve, instead find a word to act as a guiding theme.  I think I just skipped last year; no focus?
In 2012 word was “adventurous”, because I was feeling as if I didn’t aim high enough.
In 2011, I chose “balance” and “vision” because I wanted more balance of activities and priorities (All work and no play makes Tracy very dull.), and I wanted to know where I’d like to go.
In 2010 I asked to “let go” of some things I thought were holding me back, while 2009 found me taking “action”.

I still keep these words in mind, I think they’ll often be my challenges.

This year, once again I’m feeling at a plateau.  Next post I’ll tell the story of a painting and how it helped guide my thoughts on this.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Balanced Vision, Calendar, Creative Process, Figures, My Art, That's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Colorful Cowboy” and What’s my 2014 Word of the Year?

  1. Pingback: “Tall Draft” and 2014 Word of the Year: Leap | ArtStrokes -- Tracy Wall's Art Blog

Comments are closed.