Plein air painting “Every Which Way” you can…

Every Which Way ,©Tracy Wall

Every Which Way
20″ x 20″
oil on gallery-wrapped canvas
© Tracy Wall

I really enjoy plain air painting (painting outside live, minimal, if any, studio work), though it can be quite a challenge.

Not only dealing with the changing light and shadows as the sun travels across the sky, but sometimes conditions are uncomfortable and dicey, too!

I love the feel of this one.  I was standing on a bike path on the south side of the Denver metro area where two interstate freeways (I-25 and E-470) converge; very powerful standing there.  Standing underneath all the flyways with traffic barreling 70 mph made it exasperating to focus on the task at hand, though.

Getting all the road angles, reflections and shadows as they moved throughout the afternoon…..  Took me three days to tackle this, but I really like how it turned out!

I am delighted to have this piece selected for the 2013 Colorado Plein Air Festival showing in Denver November 12-December 31, 2013 at the Denver Public Library.  What an honor to be chosen amongst such talented company; stop by and see this exhibit!

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Adventurous, Calendar, Cityscape, Colorado, Exhibits, My Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Plein air painting “Every Which Way” you can…

  1. Pattie Wall says:

    I am always amazed at how these megaliths are built – soaring overhead – connecting the ground to the skies…you have captured that feeling of awe inspiring views. Good luck on your plein air exhibit!

  2. Tracy Wall says:

    Thanks Pattie! Yes, not only is the feel of painting amidst freeway traffic powerful, but the engineering of all the ramps and roadways… just amazing!

Comments are closed.