“Mystic Blue” and stretching

Mystic Blue, ©2012 Tracy Wall

“Mystic Blue”
oil on panel
7 1/4″ x 11″
©2012 Tracy Wall

As winter sets in here in Colorado, there’s a chill in the air.  As is typical, I get stiffer as the temperature falls, so stretching has been usually the first order of the day.

I’ve been stretching more physically, and now I’m also looking to stretch more artistically too.

Here’s a slightly edited (for length) definition courtesy of Wiki:

Stretching is a form of physical exercise in which one is deliberately stretched in order to improve elasticity and achieve tone. The result is a feeling of increased control, flexibility and range.

Stretching often occurs instinctively after waking from sleep, after long periods of inactivity, or after exiting confined spaces and areas.

Increasing flexibility through stretching is one of the basic tenets of fitness. It is common for athletes to stretch … in order to reduce injury and increase performance. Stretching can strengthen muscles.

If you take away references to physical muscle and apply it to our creative muscle, it all applies so well.

As an artist, I strive to improve my artistic elasticity, control,  flexibility, and range.  We often feel the need to exercise this after periods of inactivity or restrictions.  I believe many artists desire creative fitness to strengthen our performance.

Starting a series of horse/western paintings for a new group exhibit in January.  I’m hoping to stretch a little more than my usual, so keep an eye out.

On this study, I was experimenting with a little unexpected, adventurous color and simple bold shapes in the background.   I’m kinda liking it!

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Adventurous, Animal art, Creative Process, Exhibits, Figures, Horses, My Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.