Denver Chalk Art Festival

Lean on Me, ©2012 Tracy Wall

Lean on Me (street version)
8′ x 8′
pastel on 1400 block of Larimer Street, Denver, CO USA
©2012 Tracy Wall

This past weekend I took an adventurous step: I took part in an event I’ve thought about doing for years, but never had the gumption nor the risk-taking courage to even try.

The Denver Chalk Art Festival set up shop this weekend in downtown Denver, Colorado.  Attracting madonnari (professionals) to students, this is the festival’s 10th year and continues to grow.  This being my “adventurous” year, I applied.  And I got accepted.  <gulp!>

I wasn’t quite sure what to think.  I’ve worked in pastels almost exclusively a number of years ago, but I’ve never worked on an 8′ x 8′ street ‘canvas’ before.  Not to mention working two days in the hot sun.  And not to mention the over 100,000 people expected to attend this artsy/live music/local food and drink extravaganza.

       
…just a few of the award-winning masterpieces

Keep in mind this isn’t graffiti we’re talking about.  As the show’s tagline goes: “Look Down for High Art.”  We’re talking some amazing pieces; check out more works like these at Denver Chalk Art Festival.  (Forgive me as I don’t have the names of these artists; please check it out on the FB page site above.)

Would I do it again?  Absolutely; it was a fun experience!  Don’t get me wrong; it was long hard hours.  But I didn’t have to worry about the financials of the matter.  No concern about sales, deliveries charges, or anything of the sort.  Just flat out creation and chatting with folks who walked by.

All in all, it was a fantastic experience.  Crowds were huge, everyone happy and friendly, and the festival was run perfectly to a T.  Organized, easy for artists, well-planned; that alone makes me want to participate again.   And a big thank you goes out to High Sierra Energy for sponsoring my space.

I chose to recreate a favorite painting of mine: Lean on Me.  I imagined it’d be a crowd-pleaser, especially those loving dogs, and there’s not a lot of detail.  Here was a few steps along the way…

Getting Started

Weathering the Rain

End of Day 1

Now that this is over, on to the Summer Art Market this weekend…

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Adventurous, Animal art, Colorado, Creative Process, Dogs, Exhibits, My Art, Other Artists, Painting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Denver Chalk Art Festival

  1. We attended the Chalk Art Festival on Sunday. It was amazing. True talent. Congratulations for a job well done.

  2. Pattie says:

    Oh no, rain too. Glad it went so well for you. I have always loved this painting. It looks great done in this large format. Good luck in the Summer Art Market!

Comments are closed.