“Colorful Insight” and I’m an art geek

Colorful Insight, ©2012 Tracy Wall

Colorful Insight
12″ x 9″
oil on panel
©2012 Tracy Wall

(Ok, I’m trying to be a little more adventurous in my titles besides the usual, “Horse Study #xx”.) (But this is #61)

For quite some time, I’ve been trying to include a little bit of interesting unexpected color into my paintings. It may not be rocket science, but it’s new to me.

Wasn’t sure exactly how to not make it seem contrived or just for the sake of adding color.  I want to make it meaningful, yet unexpected; it makes sense yet is delightfully fresh and new. A little abstracted in a way.

Most of my previous attempts just didn’t look right, or looked contrived (having unique color just to look different i.e. like a blue cow or something).

Well this time, I kind of like what I’ve tried.  (Can you see the extra color?)  I learn from every painting, and this one’s given me a little insight as to how I can create what I’m looking for. Difficult to put into words, I can only say it “feels right”.  Still a ways to go in the journey, but it’s a start.

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step” — Lao Tzu

Sometimes I’m such an art geek.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Adventurous, Animal art, Creative Process, Figures, Horses, My Art, Painting, Quotes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.