“Rose Trifecta”

Rose Trifecta, ©2012 Tracy Wall

Rose Trifecta
oil on panel
11.75″ x 9″
©2012 Tracy Wall

Ok, flowers are a little out of my comfort zone to paint, but with spring here blooming flowers are just infectious.  Painting flowers is not without it’s thorns: I love the delicateness of the overlapping petals, but so easy to overwork with too much detail.

And with this being Derby Day (the running of the Kentucky Derby horse race), I just had to do some roses.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, Flowers, My Art, Painting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Rose Trifecta”

  1. starscraper99 says:

    Ha ha! This looks just like a picture I took!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Beautifully and thoughtfully done. It reminds me of a Mothers Day card!

  3. Tracy Wall says:

    Thank you both. Any intent for mother’s day was strictly coincidence!

  4. las artes says:

    There is no questioning the meaning of flowers in many cultures, and their use in a variety of means. Of all things from nature, flowers are most often used in ceremony, decoration, symbolism, and the symbolic meaning of flowers has certainly been represented in flower art.

  5. silver price says:

    We’re all on a journey, really. And I see similarities to travel on the road and trail that represent our life journeys. Here’s the start of my journey: sun is rising beginning a new day.

  6. gold price says:

    Variation: Paint cardstock with thinned glue instead of paint. Dip tops of flowers in floral-colored sand. Dip stems and leaves into green sand. Allow to dry, and assemble.

Comments are closed.