“Colfax Lights” and I’m a serial painter.

Colfax Lights, ©2012 Tracy Wall

Colfax Lights
20″ x 20″
oil on gallery-wrapped canvas
©2012 Tracy Wall

The first step is always to admit it.  I am a serial painter.

The term ‘serial painting’ or ‘painting in a series’ can have different interpretations.  Some consider it as paintings of the same view done on different days or different times of day.  (i.e. Claude Monet — his views of the Rouen Cathedral)  Others use themes like color, composition, shapes, etc, to create work with similarities.

I often paint in series using the same subject, but explore different aspects and viewpoints.  Sometimes the variation could be size or different color schemes, other times a different angle or composition.  All while exploring the same concept.  That’s one reason for my mini paintings…to explore shapes, colors, and styles before taking the leap to a larger size.

This painting is a result of my Night Lights series.  You’ve seen many other series here: horses grazing/standing, fruit (limes, lemons, etc), mugs, and so on.

That “do or die” call I spoke about in a previous post?  That meant it’s time to stop exploring and “do”.  Stay tuned for more larger works built off of small studies!

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Adventurous, Colorado, Creative Process, Landscape, My Art, Night Lights, Painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.