“Two Grazing” (Horse Study #52) and Do or Die

Horse Study #52, ©2012 Tracy Wall

Horse Study #52
9″ x 12″
oil on panel
©2012 Tracy Wall

“Creativity emerges in experimentation, manipulation and exploration.”  — Bert Dodson

It feels like it’s “do or die” time for me.  I’m looking to push the edge.  It’s time to be a little more adventurous in my work.

For the longest time, I’ve been doing super small traditional works (6″x6″, 6″x8″) and it’s time to spread my wings.  I’ll still continue to do smaller paintings as warm-ups.  Much like a musician may practice scales, a singer may warm up their voice, or a baseball player may swing a bat, I too seem to benefit from loosening up with quick studies.

So you’ll still be seeing horses (or mugs, fruit, flowers, night lights, other usual suspects) like these (btw, like the “brushiness” on this one!).  It’s just that I’ll start changing things up a bit.  Time to push the parameters of size, composition, viewpoint, color, abstraction and style.

Change can be hard.  Not living up to previous expectations, fear of losing the interest of patrons, self-doubt in that they just might look stupid… just some of the reasons an artist (like me) may not want to explore new creative ideas.

But to me stagnating is scarier than failing.  So I’m psyched!  Psyched to experiment, manipulate, and explore. (as so eloquently put by Mr. Dodson)

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Adventurous, Animal art, Creative Process, Figures, Horses, Landscape, My Art, Painting, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Two Grazing” (Horse Study #52) and Do or Die

  1. Pattie says:

    The underpainting or warm tint you did, make this one sing with color!! Imlove your horses. They are so anatomically interesting. I paint 9×12 lots, because that is what size my pochade box takes..so it MAKES me do that size…I like going really big anymore, too, (for me that is 20×40) I get lost in them. Paint on!

  2. Pattie says:

    soryy about typos..iPad made me do it

  3. Tracy Wall says:

    Thanks Pattie! Having grown up w/ horses, it’s important to me to be anatomically correct first, then simplify and abstract.

    Yes, I kinda like this size… not too big, but allows space for what I need. Although I’m pushing to work bigger! They’re getting easier.

    (And no need to be sorry for an overzealous auto-correct!)

  4. Horses are my favorite subjects. :) I’ve never been around them much but I’ve read every book in our library and studied tons of videos and pictures. I usually do graphite and charcoal but I’m trying to add color into them.
    Beautiful painting!

  5. Tracy Wall says:

    Thank you so much PH! Yes, repetitive practice was so important to me. Good to have fun exploring something new too. stretches us out!

Comments are closed.