“Noon Traffic” and meeting the challenge

Noon Traffic ©2012 Tracy Wall

Noon Traffic
8″ x 10ish ”
oil on panel
©2012 Tracy Wall

I completed this painting as part of a challenge posted by artist Terry Miura.

He was pondering about struggling to simplify things when he’s painting, so he offered a challenge. Artists were given the same photograph to work from and create their own simplified version.  No prize, no winners (well, everyone’s a winner!);  just seeing how others may address the same challenge.

Here’s the photograph we were to work from:

original photograph

Although the streetlights also attracted me, I couldn’t help focusing on the shapes of all the car shadows on the streets.  My usual MO is to crop and focus in, so that’s what I did with what caught my attention the most.

Check out other versions here or on his blog, “Studio Notes”.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, Landscape, My Art, Other Artists, Painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.