“Flip Flops” and Summer!!!

Flip Flops (sold)
6″ x 6″
oil on panel
©2011 Tracy Wall

There’s just something about flip flops that scream summer.  I was intrigued by the shadows of the straps caused by the blazingly hot midday July sun.

Denver County Fair Poster

Denver County Fair ©2011

I just got home from another hot summertime event — a County Fair!  This year, Denver has hosted it’s first ever Denver County Fair…. a mix of last century’s traditions with today’s hip culture and technology.  It  even got picked up by AP and posted by NPR. (you gotta click on both of these links and read all about it)

It was just like the traditional rural county fairs I grew up with complete with corn dogs, a Ferris wheel, a ring-toss, and scads of award-winning vegetables.

Then again, Denver is a metropolitan area and this is 2011.  At the Denver County Fair, texting competitions, a bike rodeo, a holistic fair, and a Freak Show also had their place alongside the blue ribbon chickens and apple pies.

Just a fun time.  It’s summertime.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Calendar, Colorado, My Art, Still Life, That's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Flip Flops” and Summer!!!

  1. Becky says:

    Yes, I agree – flip flops are definitely a summer / beach attire. I love your work, you could take the most simplest… [any]thing and make it a work of art! Well done! I can’t wait to see what you paint next! :)

Comments are closed.