“Steamboat Study 3”

Steamboat Study 3
6″ x 6″
oil on panel
©2011 Tracy Wall

Another plein air painting I did in Steamboat, looking straight into the setting sun.  It’s very green this July because of more than average rainfall this spring and summer.  Here, that lushness shows.

Sometimes when it’s compelling to me, I’ll take a number of these small compositions and (with a little studio editing) turn them into larger paintings.  That’s why I call them ‘studies’.  Although this isn’t necessarily my most favorite, there’s parts about the concept and composition that appeal to me.  I imagine you’ll be seeing something similar to this one again.  Might have to throw a horse into one of these fields.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Colorado, Creative Process, Landscape, My Art, Painting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.