“Steamboat Study 2”

Steamboat Study 2 (sold)
6″ x 6″
oil on panel
©2011 Tracy Wall

I’m noticing something about these plein air pieces:  seems they have less value range.  By that I mean the dark areas are not super almost blackish dark and the light areas aren’t nearly white.  There’s a narrower range between the darks and lights.  I like that.

Hmmmm.  Wasn’t a conscious effort on my part.  Maybe it happened because I was wearing sunglasses while I was painting.  However it happened, I like it.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Colorado, Creative Process, Landscape, My Art, Painting, Trail and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Steamboat Study 2”

  1. Con says:

    Love both the Steamboat paintings. Look like beautiful morning light, was it?

Comments are closed.