“Horse Study #42” and seeing exhibits

Horse Study #42
6″ x 8″
oil on panel
©2011 Tracy Wall

(Had some cool colors of paint leftover on the palette, so I warmed up by doing this little painting.   Felt good because I haven’t done a horse in a while and I sorta like some aspects of it!)

I am a fan of seeing art exhibits of artists who’s work I admire, thought don’t do it often enough.  So I gave myself an “Art Exhibit” day, and took off to see two north of Denver.

First I stopped by the Longmont Museum and Cultural Center and saw an exhibit of works by Jill Soukup.   Not only do I love her use of paint, but was surprised at the huge size (measured in feet) of some of those pieces.  There’s a few narratives she wrote about the work that I found interesting.  (Also, too, what a delight this facility was!  Never been to this charming new place.)  This show only goes through next weekend, so catch it if you can!

I went further north and saw the 20th annual Governor’s Invitational Art Show at the Loveland Museum/Gallery.  There are nearly 60 artists on display including the likes of Kim English, Michelle Torrez, Stacy Peterson, Desmond O’Hagan, Ken Velastro, Kit Hevron Mahoney, and other wonderful painters.  What a banquet for me to feast on!  I learn so much even from seeing finished works.  Someday I’ll get my invite.   :)

I know this sounds so cliche, but seeing the impressive works of wonderful regional professional artists like these is truly inspirational for me.  It helps me to believe that I can actually do this!

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Animal art, Colorado, Exhibits, Horses, My Art, Other Artists and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Horse Study #42” and seeing exhibits

  1. barb says:

    And you are well on your way! I admire your ‘stick-to-it-tive-nish’ so much. Never, never quite! Love all your horses . .especially the one you did for me!

  2. That’s great! I’m just starting to experiment with paints after years of basically nothing but charcoal or ink… but I doubt my first attempts will turn out quite that good. :D I love the colors you wound up with, and even though the horse’s face looks like you did it with very few strokes, there’s such character in it. Really cool!

  3. Tracy says:

    Thank you both!
    @barb: just plugging away, one step at a time. Especially glad you like yours!
    @mackenzie: keep plugging away yourself! I’ve been painting for years, not to mention working with pastels prior to that (many of the same strategies between the media) That’s my goal: try to make it look easy with fewer well-placed strokes. Thanks for noticing!

Comments are closed.