“Stepping Up”

Stepping Up (Apples #6) (sold)
12″ x 12″
oil on panel
©2011 Tracy Wall

Sometimes it’s important not to lose sight of the big picture.  Most often from greater heights.
Like on top of a bowl.

(I’ve had this cool set of brightly colored bowls for years.  Was looking to add a little color to this composition, and it practically jumped out of the cupboard to pose.  I like the flutes on it though it posed challenges in painting.  I like balancing natural and man-made items within a still life, so you might be seeing more of these bowls.)

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Art, Balance, Creative Process, Fruits/Vegetables, My Art, Painting, Still Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Stepping Up”

  1. Pattie says:

    Greater heights for sure! Really like your treatment of that yellow fluted bowl – it’s a very nice painting!

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Pattie! You know, those flutes are a double-edged sword. Difficult for me to organize them, but the places where they work is effective.

  3. Kim says:

    I like how I can see flecks of green in the background and in the reflection. That effect pulls the composition together (for my novice eye).

    As always, the brush strokes…beautiful. *sigh*

Comments are closed.