“Sunday Steam” and down time

Sunday Steam
12″ x 9″
oil on panel
©2011 Tracy Wall

Here’s a favorite large mug, just perfect for Sunday morning steamy coffee.

As part of the shifting in my life to balance things out, I am adjusting my schedule to more closely match the vision I have of the life I want to live.

Though there’s times and situations I like walking to the beat of a different drummer, it’s been a wish of mine to actually have some off time when much of the rest of the world takes time off: Sundays.

For almost 11 years, I’ve worked on Sundays.  As most rested, I always toiled for the almighty dollar to help make ends meet.  Used to be I worked a long day from 10:00 am to 8:00 pm every Sunday.  A year or so ago I finally brought it down to a more reasonable 5-6 hrs of Sunday work commitments working for others.

Well, enough is enough.  I decided to let go of a work shift on Sunday.  Part of TOJ (the other job) involves committed times to work every week, working for someone else.   That was my last remaining obstacle.

This is the year to make my life what I’d like it to be.  So I’ve given the work shift up.  Let it go.  I’ll still work for myself one Sunday a month or so for just a few short hours.  Sometimes TOJ, sometimes my art.  But I’ll have control of the choice as to what’s right for me that week.

The last few Sundays I’ve had minimal work commitments, and the world didn’t fall apart. (oh my!)  And I got to lay around in bed for a lazy morning.  And I had a Sunday brunch or two.  And I’ve visited museums.  How lovely!  Who knew?!?  :)

Another benefit: I didn’t realize how much I’d anticipate it during the week.  It’s the whole concept of knowing I have a planned day (or even just a portion of a day) to shut down and make it off limits to work.  Even if I love my work (as I do), in order to have the balance I seek in my life, it’s still important for me to step away from the easel now and again.

Although it seems like such a small step, this one was huge for me.

Do you have regular planned days off?

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Balance, Balanced Vision, Calendar, Interiors, My Art, Painting, Still Life, That's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Sunday Steam” and down time

  1. Kimberly says:

    That’s where my co-colleagues… my animals… insist on my time off. I like the whimsical nature of the steam… it’s saying “touche!” (to time off! :-)

    AND… I have that mug!

  2. Tracy says:

    Smart colleagues! :)

  3. Pattie says:

    Tracy – you and others..I don’t see how you do TOJ’s and art, too. Sundays are good days off – but I never seem to take one. Being retired from the ‘time clock work-a-day’ is nice, but then use of time tends to beckon me EVERY day – I am in that groove of “you never know – make the most out of every day”. The pace is steady, but not driven. I like my mornings to just float through cyberspace on a journey that encourages and promotes creativity. The afternoons/later afternoons are usually spent in a frenzy in the studio. Days off include mowing 8 acres, maintaining many buildings and machinery, an occasional TRIP to some other town for supplies the lighter side of running a farmstead. I guess that’s my step away from the easel. It usually gives me time to drink in a big breath of fresh air and listen to nature. But with this kind of living, you sometimes miss the CITY big time. Then you go visit there and hurry back home!

    • Tracy says:

      Interesting, Pattie.; thanks for sharing.

      I usually find the AM hrs best to paint, or else if I have a deadline looming, I find that the 11:00 pm – 3:00 am time frame unusually inspiring. I usually find surfing on-line (even art sites) draining, so I try not to do it before a paint time.

      I would think that the farm chores provide a necessary change of pace from studio time. I like the idea of tending to the earth as therapy. Then again, like you, there’s times I need the pulse of the city to recharge me, too.

      So many facets!

Comments are closed.