“Gesture #40”, back to class, and a new exhibit

Gesture #40
6″ x 6″
oil on panel
©2011 Tracy Wall

I’ve started again attending a painting class by Michelle Torrez at the Art Students League of Denver. Last spring it helped me move miles in the growth of my painting, and I’m excited to do more.  We practice 1-20 minute gesture paintings (I think this one was 5 mins) to force quick decision-making.  It’s exactly what I need to help my work become more expressive.

As proof, I’m participating in a group exhibit at the League, “Breakthrough: Art Over Time” This is a show of works by members, students and faculty of works that were important in their professional growth. I am displaying Gesture #37 (posted here last October), which was one of the first paintings I completed in my studio consciously applying what I had been working on in class.  I’m happy that I was able to transfer what I had been doing in class to work on my own.

Stop by the Opening Reception: Friday, March 4, 5:30 – 8:00 pm (I won’t be able to make it until 7:30), or during normal business hours through April 20th.

Breakthrough: Art Over Time
March 4 – April 20, 2011

Art Students League of Denver
200 Grant Street
Denver, CO 80203

8:30 am – 9:30 pm | Monday – Thursday
8:30 am – 5:00 pm | Fridays
8:30 am – 4:30 pm | Saturdays
Closed Sundays and National Holidays
About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Art, Calendar, Colorado, Creative Process, Exhibits, Figures, My Art, Other Artists and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Gesture #40”, back to class, and a new exhibit

  1. Kimberly says:

    Great painting, love the flash of red bandana, and of course the brush strokes, and that it looks like you! :-)

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Kimberly! I guess when every artist paints a figure, they put a bit of themselves in. ;)

  3. thinjobz says:

    Excellent Job. http://thinjobz.com

Comments are closed.