“Spoon Dip” and 2011 Word(s) of the Year

Spoon Dip (sold)
8″ x 6″
oil on panel
© 2011 Tracy Wall

Before January gets too far along, I better focus on my Word(s) of the Year to provide a guidepost for making decisions and addressing challenges for 2011.  Sure I’ve got plenty of  “to-do” lists of tasks and accomplishments, but this is about guiding behavior and choices.

So I’m considering what theme could help me most…

I love the way my art is progressing these days.  I want to be a professional artist.  That is foremost in my mind (ok, among other things) and where I want to go.  So what’s my stumbling block?

“The further backward you look, the further forward you can see.”  –– Winston Churchill

I still remind myself to take Action (‘09) and not just plan my time away (that’s resistance; more about that in another post).

“Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.”– Will Rogers

I still remind myself to Let Go (’10) of some ideas and habits that may be holding me back.

“Some think it’s holding on that makes one strong; sometimes it’s letting go.”    — Sylvia Robinson

I’m all for diving in full-steam ahead, but I need to solidify the picture in my head of where I want to go and what my life would look like.  How will you get someplace unless you have an idea of where you want to go?

It’s like I need that vision in my head that concretely imagines the life I want.  I get so tied up in the details of everyday, that I sometimes lose sight of the big picture. Don’t get me wrong; I love so many things in my life and the way it’s developing, but I’m not there yet.

Included in that life I need to learn to balance things out.  Balance in work/play (All work and no play makes Tracy very dull.), giving/receiving, in artwork/massage work, home/away, activity/rest, loves/friends, splurge/save, tidiness/clutter, myself/others … this list is endless.  :)   It’s possible to balance both, while still feeling like I’m not losing one to get the other.

Combine the two, and my theme this year is to always keep in mind I’ll be maintaining a Balanced Vision.  Always interested in your thoughts, so feel free to comment.

I was warming up last night to start a bigger painting, and this little spoon just had to stick a toe in the water and be painted.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Balanced Vision, Goals, Let It Go, My Art, Quotes, Still Life, That's Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Spoon Dip” and 2011 Word(s) of the Year

  1. Nancy says:

    I love your Spoon Dip painting. Its just perfect.

    You’ve given me way too much to think about. Looking around at “me” I think I’ve let myself down.

    I absolutely love the quotes you’ve used. I’m going to write them down and put them on my wall to think about.

    Great post Tracy …

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Nancy. I really like the whole ‘yearly theme’ thing as it serves a different purpose than resolutions. Check out Christine Kane’s original post about it: http://christinekane.com/blog/resolution-revolution-a-better-way-to-start-your-year/. And no “let down”! It’s a new year with a clean slate. We can be anything we want to be!
    Hang in there and keep in touch!

  3. Pingback: Green Bay Packers and Let’s Play! « ArtStrokes — Tracy Wall's Art Blog

Comments are closed.