“Egg Study #4” and Word(s) of Last Year

Egg Study #4
6″ x 6″
oil on panel
© 2011 Tracy Wall

For the past few years I’ve not only had a yearly list of both personal and professional goals to accomplish, but I’ve also had a Word(s) of the Year.  These end up being general themes with which I guide decision-making throughout the year.

Two years ago I chose “Action” to not just talk the talk, but walk the walk.   Last year I chose “Let it Go”, and boy was it a lesson learned.

Letting go of personal relationships can be a struggle for me.  Even though logic is telling me to do so, my heart and my gut sometimes don’t get it (and maybe they shouldn’t).  Some I just don’t want to let go.

The biggest ‘letting go’ had to do with my dog, my beautiful boy Spencer.   He was my very soul and having to let go of him was my biggest challenge.

Not only did I have to let go of him, but my daily life also has been up-ended.  I’m trying to readjust my sails as my routines just don’t seem right without him.

Mixed emotions arise.  On the one hand, the new-found freedom is refreshing; on the other hand I feel lonely and guilty for appreciating the time.  I miss him terribly.  Still working on letting go of that.

This year past was also my most exciting (my opinion) growth in painting.  I’m loving how my works are developing a recognizable looser style, and that I’m able to pull this off while I’m painting and not frustratingly recognizing this after completion.  I’m better able to let go of having to nit-pick too many details, and can’t wait to see how this continues to grow.  I’ve only just begun to actually see myself as an artist instead of someone who just ‘does some art’.  Letting it go!

Those who know me know that clutter is my friend; I tend to accumulate things “just in case”.  The past few months I’ve started letting go of things (clothes, objects, knick-knacks, etc) that I no longer feel the need to hang on to. Perhaps it’s a snowball effect where once you start letting go in one area, others tend to loosen as well.

I believe themes from previous years always stick with me as I continue to keep ‘Action’ and ‘Letting Go’ running in the back of my head.  But now I’m reviewing and searching for my current needs and stumbling blocks to narrow down my focus on my 2011 word(s) of the year.  Stay tuned…

This is a little painting study I did last night distinguishing between different whites.  White egg in a white ‘soup mug’ on a white table.  (And did I mention there’s white snow outside everywhere?)

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Calendar, Creative Process, Goals, Let It Go, My Art, Still Life, That's Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Egg Study #4” and Word(s) of Last Year

  1. Vanessa says:

    Lovely work Tracy. I love the highlights along the cup rim and on top of the egg.

    Letting go is never easy, as even the way in which we do it changes over time as we grow. I’m like you as well, I have a hard time of letting go when deeply attached. It just never seems fair or understandable to me. Sometimes I try to refocus on all that I have to appreciative for and at least give thanks that whatever I’m letting go of was ever in my life to begin with. Easier said than done of course but it is still beneficial.

    And a big congrats for being able to let go of detail and just paint in various styles with more freedom. I can get bogged down in details too, to the point where I am stuck somewhere between realism and representational,though I’m trying to work my way more towards representational..lol

    Nevertheless hope you are having a wonderful weekend!

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks for the lovely comment Vanessa. I loved the challenge of distinguishing between all the whites.

    That’s a great idea, to use gratitude to refocus my thoughts and energy. Although I’ve done them in the past, we can never have enough reminders to give thanks for what we already have.

    I don’t feel like I’m quite there on the ‘letting go of painting details’ front. For the first time in quite a while, I feel like my work is starting to develop and not remain frustratingly stagnant. My biggest push was having time limits set in order to force me to make painting decisions quickly. It’s a continual struggle, but baby steps are ok for now.

    Thanks again for visiting and speaking your mind!

  3. Pingback: “Spoon Dip” and 2011 Word(s) of the Year « ArtStrokes — Tracy Wall's Art Blog

Comments are closed.