“Spencer Study #9” and Restarting the Creative Process

Spencer Study # 9
12″ x 12″
oil on gallery-wrapped canvas
©2010 Tracy Wall

I’ve taken some time to grieve, and it’s time I follow advice from Gene Autry and get “…back in the saddle again”.  It’s difficult for me to start painting again after taking time away.

Call it getting in the groove, warming up, or finding a better state of mind, I (like many artists I presume) struggle getting back to it.  For me it takes time and a few terrible paintings before things start to ‘click’ again.

I read this blog post last week from Robert Genn about restarting the creative process and it seemed to resonate with me.  A question was posed as to how one comes back to create after taking time away (post referred to time off for an intense art workshop).  Brian Crawford Young asked, “…everything crunched to a halt. All my fears and self-doubts emerged and creativity stopped. Any thoughts on this sort of blues?”

I’m going to extrapolate and say that the solutions mentioned in the post also apply to taking time away from painting for any reason.  Fear and lack of self-confidence can cause gridlock. If you have experienced (or are currently experiencing) this, click the link for interesting ideas to overcome.

About this painting: Spencer LOVED adventure and was my backseat co-pilot for every excursion.

Now I’m not going to do only ‘Spencer paintings’ for the rest of time and it might have been more apropos for the song lyric quoted above had I done a horse, but I still seem to have dog visions seeping through my brain.  I hope those never stop.  Seemed to fit to stay with blues.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Animal art, Dogs, Figures, My Art, Painting, Quotes, That's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Spencer Study #9” and Restarting the Creative Process

  1. best artistic says:

    Very nice article …
    maybe you can spend it comes to my art site htp://bestartistic.com/ thank you very much

    • joy Schultz says:

      miss tracy!
      i love the painting and i am sorry to hear about mr. spencer…
      what a gift he is/was forever!
      Spencer lives
      in you
      and me!
      and through you and your painting he is still brought to all the world…
      dogs are love!
      love you,
      joy

  2. Tracy says:

    Thank you Joy, that means alot.
    Hope all is well in your world!

  3. Pattie says:

    I know where you are at this time. I am there as well. I can relate to those visions. He will always be with you. I LOVE this one of him in the back seat of the car. He has that “let’s go!!” attitude in his eyes! Like you’ve said, perhaps he is saying that to you, even now!

  4. Tracy says:

    Thanks Pattie.
    We’ll ALWAYS be continuing our conversation. :)

  5. Con says:

    I love your Spencer paintings and admire your ability to keep blogging and sharing his images with us through your sadness. 1000 images of a great dog would not be too many and this one is lovely.

    Thanks for writing about the article on restarting our creative habits. It’s just what I’ve been needing this week.

  6. Tracy says:

    Thanks Con; here’s to a fabulous 2011!!

Comments are closed.