“Spencer Study #3” & What’s Great About Dogs

Spencer Study #3
7.5″ x 9.5″
charcoal on paper
© 2006 Tracy Wall

Had to take a bit of a break from my usual, as I’m learning to adjust and re-balance my daily life without Spence.

Because I try to paint what I love and amazes me, he was the subject of many works both as himself and sometimes as a model.  Some I posted, some I haven’t. (You can again see ones I’ve posted here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.)  I’m sure you’ll be seeing him again, too.

Spencer, aka (by me and others who knew him)

Colorado Mountain Dog,
Stink Dog,
1st Bank Dog,
Hardware Store Dog,
Punk Dog,
Best Boy,
River Dog,
Handsome Dog,
Guard Dog,
KBCO Calendar Cover Boy,
Hiking Dog,
Coolest Dog Ever

…will be so missed.

You see, that’s what great about dogs.  He was the best dog in the world for me, but that works for every dog.  I think every dog-owner believes their dog is the best and could take the very same titles.  And that’s ok!

Perhaps that’s because dogs give us the security of unconditional love, and we do our best to return the favor by seeing nothing but the best.  I’ve never had children nor been married, but I can only hope any love I may have comes even half as close as I loved my dog.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Animal art, Dogs, Figures, My Art, That's Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Spencer Study #3” & What’s Great About Dogs

  1. I’ve had cats the last 15+ years, but at one time we had a wonderful dog. When she passed away it was some of the worst pain I’ve ever experienced …and the pain lasted sooo long. I hope you and Bexley can offer each other comfort to help ease the pain I know you are both feeling.

    Also want to tell you how great the paintings you did of Spencer are. I love his nose … looks heart shape. What a love.

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Nancy.
    He was a doll, and I’m so lucky to share his life. Perhaps dogs are a little needier for basic essentials that we have different connections with them. Our animals teach us so much, don’t they? We’re getting used to the changes.

  3. Your painting is so expressive. The emotion is seen in each line and love is felt whole throughout. Dogs are another important part of our life,It is only right that we give them proper attention.

Comments are closed.