“Horse Study #39” and Re-Balancing

Horse Study #39 (sold)
8″ x 6″
oil on panel
©2010 Tracy Wall

I feel like the past few months I’ve been on-the-go-go-go.  For a bit I’ll need to stop and re-check things I’ve let slip into the background.  Over the past 3 months, I’ve had 3 art festivals, an indoor exhibit, traveled out-of-town, house guests, plus working TOJ nearly 7 days/week.  Time to slow the pace a bit.

I need to take the time to re-balance myself.  Get back to routines, touch base with maintenance things for myself, my car, my home.  Things need attention like getting brakes fixed, seeing the dentist, exercising again, clearing piles in nearly every room of my house, getting a little more sleep, etc…

Time to reassess my schedule and learn to balance:  work/play, social/solitude, art/massage, activity/rest.

It’s like pulling weeds in a garden.  Yank out from the root those overgrown things that block out the sun and suck up all my resources preventing the things I want to cultivate from growing.

Once things get back into balance, I ramp up for a few new things I have brewing!

(This painting is a variation of one I did a while back.  When in doubt, like at last week’s festival, I turn to something with which I am familiar.)

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Animal art, Figures, Horses, My Art, That's Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Horse Study #39” and Re-Balancing

  1. Kimberly says:

    Nice analogy with the garden! And I like this guy’s laid back expression.

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Kimberly. I sorta like how the turquoise background is incorporated into the horse as well.

Comments are closed.