“Goliath” and Thank you!

Goliath Puppy (sold)
8″ x 6″
oil on panel
©2010 Tracy Wall

Finished my final weekend outdoor art festival of the year.  Once again, Mother Nature gave us three fabulous classic late summer days.  Thank you to all who visited!

I tried a ‘first’ this weekend: painting during the show.  Depending on crowds, there is typically down time during the festival where I’m standing around waiting.  Reminding myself that I complain about my lack of time to paint, a thought crossed my mind: If all I’ve got here is ample time, could I actually paint during the festival?

I’ve tried it once before and did not like it and got very little done.  Didn’t like people looking over my shoulder.  But that was just one time, and I’m a far different painter now than I was then.  I decided to give it a go; what better opportunity to take a chance!  It’s all about letting go of the old habits, fears and the “what if’s”, right?

I was a nervous about it.  Instead of trying to paint from life, I gathered up some photographs that I thought I might pull off.  The above painting is one I completed then; it’s of “Golly”, a pooch living with my brother’s family in WI.

Turns out I had fun doing them!  Some came out nice, others …. well …. need some work.  Either way, it caused folks to stop and look, and gave everyone easy conversation starters (a lot of times chit chat can be a struggle at these types of shows).  So not only did I face a few fears, but I also got four small paintings done.   When given the chance, I’d do it again!

PS:  My biggest surprise though is that I spent two afternoons painting, and didn’t get a lick of paint on any clothes (even a white shirt!).

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Animal art, Dogs, Exhibits, Figures, Let It Go, My Art, Painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Goliath” and Thank you!

  1. Jeanette says:

    I love this painting Tracy. Its loose but perfectly captures the pup. Funny how some work for us and some don’t isn’t it?

    Good for you to paint in the down time at the event. I am pretty good at painting or drawing with people interrupting but it can get difficult and make you lose your concentration.

  2. James Day says:

    Your work is absolutely stunning Tracy! My fan base on Art of Day would love to see your work. Let me know if you’d ever like to be a featured artist of the day on my site. I know your feature would be very popular. I also include tons of visible links back to the artists site(s) and other social media they may use. :) Have a great day! Cheers! ~ James

  3. Tracy says:

    Thanks Jeanette. My past difficulty was less about loss of focus, and more with the creepy feeling of people looking over my shoulder. Was not at ALL the case this past weekend. (I think also has to do with my confidence level.)

    Thanks James! Why yes, I’d be interested. I’ll be in touch with you.

  4. Hi Tracy, I guess if I had read the instructions in the side column I would have known how to comment! I was looking for a “comment” link below the post.I just wanted to say hi as I had seen you on the Daily Painters of Colorado blog, and to let you know that I love this piece in particular, and enjoy seeing your work.

  5. Tracy says:

    Thanks Joanne and fellow DPofC artist!
    Glad my site is working ok. Thanks for the lovely comment!

  6. leslie says:

    Tracy,

    I loved meeting you at the Greenwood Festival.
    Seeing you paint in progress was fUN.
    Your spirit is warm & full life, so well expressed in your paintings.

    I’m a newbie watercolorist and & my husband and I recently took my/our first (couple’s) painting lesson from someone who may be a kindred spirit of yours…
    after twenty years he now loves to paint in front of BIG AUDIENCES!

    He’s Majid Kahhak, he and Ruth’s lively gallery is on mainstreet Carbondale, Colo or http://www.mkahhak.com. I’d been visiting him for past 6 years passing thru Carbondale/Snowmass/Aspen and i finally worked up courage to take a workshop. Glad i did. Hope you and Majid can meet someday.

    Thanks Tracy for sharing your creative spirit AND info about that nifty easel:)

    Look forward to more creativities on your blog.

    Leslie
    Littleton Colorado

  7. Tracy says:

    Thanks Leslie! I had fun painting too. Congrats on the class, and thanks for sharing the site with us. I’ll have to check it out.
    Keep in touch!

  8. zookyshirts says:

    I really like your paintings and decided to comment on this one rather than leave comments on tons of your blog posts. You really capture a subject well — be they cherries or tomatoes or horses or this dog. I’m starting out in painting, and I’ve found that it’s certainly not easy to capture the look and feel of a subject. But I think you do those very well. Keep up the great work!

  9. Tracy says:

    Thanks zook!
    I’ve been doing this a while, and I’ve only just begun. Even the most recent (Cherry Tomatoes) gave me fits at times. I’ve found that the more I paint, the closer I feel to my own personal “visual voice”.
    Paint on!

Comments are closed.