“Just Hangin’ ” & having an Art Booth

Just Hangin’  (sold)
24″ x 18″
oil on panel
(c) 2010 Tracy Wall

I was talking to my friend Sara and she was asking if I enjoyed having a booth at an art festival like I did last weekend and meeting all the people.  I haven’t done a huge number of outdoor art festivals, but I’ve done my share.

I have to admit, when I started doing these, I just hated having to chitchat and make small talk.  I was uncomfortable with the whole “selling” process and just wanted my work to speak for itself by jumping off the tent wall and into the arms of a collector in love with it.

These days I’m much less averse to it.  I have more realistic expectations, and adapt to the show atmosphere easier.  I don’t know if I’m getting better, but I’m certainly more comfortable with it all.

I try to avoid just sitting in my chair and watching the people go by.  I’ll stay active during a show and move around constantly adjusting, straightening, reorganizing bin work, always looking busy.

(Though this past weekend, when I needed to sit for a few moments of down time, it just got me thinking that sitting there I wasn’t too different from an animal in a zoo watching people walk by my little 10’x10’ cage, pointing and looking.  Not that I would expect festival-goers to do anything different, but it was an interesting comparison to ponder.  Sometimes strange thoughts cross my mind.)  :)

Maybe it’s getting easier because I like my art better.  When I’m more comfortable with my work, I’m better able to talk about it feeling more at ease.  That’s certainly a factor.

I’m still unsure if peddling at an art festival like this is the best way for me to find my audience, but I’ll continue a few shows a year for now.

— I really like how the colors on this one developed.  Click on the image then click again to see it clearer and up-close. —

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Art, Art Marketing, Exhibits, Interiors, My Art, Painting, Still Life, That's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.