“Night Lights 3” and deep thoughts in the night

Night Lights 3
20″ x 16″
oil on gallery-wrapped canvas
(c) 2010 Tracy Wall

“Change your thoughts and you change your world.”
— Norman Vincent Peale

Here’s a little abstraction I’d been wanting to play with. (1st abstract attempt!)

I’ve been working a lot at night lately, and if I’m out and about am sometimes drawn in by the lights I see.

When no one is up and I’m painting away, my mind can start churning.  It’s at times like these when one’s demons arise and it’s easy to fall prey to self-doubt.  The mind falls back on old habits, the “why’s” and “how come’s”.  Replaying to find where things went right as well as where I messed up.  Reliving things I wish might be different.

Aackk!  Careful; not too much of that!  Can’t rewind time.  Must only deal with what’s happening today right now.

So I keep looking toward the lights.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Art, Creative Process, Let It Go, My Art, Painting, That's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Night Lights 3” and deep thoughts in the night

  1. sawurst says:

    Mmm, very cool. I say, a very good attempt for your first abstract. :)
    I understand the late at night churning of the creative process, the ghosts and the glory. :)

  2. Jeanette says:

    I like this a lot Tracy. The lighter blue in the distance spells night perfectly and those glimmers of lights …wonderful.

  3. Tracy says:

    Thanks both of you! I hope to do more in this series.

  4. Caroline says:

    This is great for a first attempt at abstraction, well done! It’s mysterious yet gives us enough information to tease our minds and let our imaginations create a scene and narrative. Don’t let the night get to you, I love it for it’s calm, quiet and serenity. Use it to get lost in and it’ll bring you creative freedom, not worry and questions.

  5. Tracy says:

    Thanks Caroline. That was my goal with the balance between representational and abstract. Good advice too, about the nighttime. Working on controlling the direction of thoughts! :)

  6. Dana says:

    I have the honor of searching on line for wall art, viewing so many great artists and the great work they do and share.
    Abstract art is unique work of art. The image one brings to canvas is wonderful.

Comments are closed.