“It’s Not Easy Being Green” and same old demons

It’s Not Easy Being Green (sold)
12″ x 24″
oil on gallery-wrapped canvas
(c) 2010 Tracy Wall

Feeling an anxiousness yesterday and today.
Trying some new things in my art, and I’ve been repeatedly painting/wiping it away.  Just can’t seem to get things as I’d like them. (Full moon and lunar eclipse, too, maybe that gravitational pull has something to do with it as well.)  :)

These new attempts are not necessarily anything strikingly different in the final version, but new to my process.  As with anything new, it’s a matter of letting go of the fear.

Ah ha!  Letting Go of old thoughts, feelings, and processes.  Figuring out what is not working for me and why the fear of trying new is keeping me stagnant.  When it involves my work, it becomes very emotional to me and effects many aspects of my life.  Because losing some beliefs means that I have to let go of some that have been so important to me.

Hopefully I can show you some results next post.

In the meantime, here’s one from last year that I’ve never made public before.  I created it for a themed exhibit titled, “Anything but Green”.  Didn’t finish it in time for the show.  It’s interesting to me to see how my work is changing even in less than a year.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, Let It Go, My Art, Painting, Still Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “It’s Not Easy Being Green” and same old demons

  1. lizamyers says:

    I love the energy of your brush strokes. You capture the light so effectively and joyfully. I’d love to see these up close and personal!

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Liza. When I painted this I had just returned from an inspiring workshop. I even used a little palette knife on this too. Next time you’re out west, let me know!

Comments are closed.