Painting Intuitively and “Horse Studies #34 and #35”

Horse Study #34 (sold)
oil on panel
7.75″ x  10″
(c) 2010 Tracy Wall

Horse Study #35 (sold)
oil on panel
6″ x 8″
(c) 2010 Tracy Wall

Here are my first published attempts to apply what I’m getting from my class with Michelle Torrez and making it my own.

My never-ending search for my own Visual Voice continues.  This isn’t about techniques, subjects or colors.  It’s a very gray and nebulous thing that I have great difficulty putting into words.

I’m pushing to paint more intuitively.  In the past, I’ve approached each work with a draftsman-like approach: decide upon subject; carefully plan and compose all specifics; then render them as I see them.  I strive to be more spontaneous when painting. (no fear!)

Artist Keith Bond described something similar in a post written in January on FineArtViews blog.  He looks at three types of writing styles writing about the same subject in three different ways, and applies the analogy to creating visual art.  It struck a chord with me, so I’ll attempt to paraphrase and put in my two cents.

The police report is a “Just the facts, Ma’am” kind of approach.  Nothing more, nothing less.  Clear, crisp, succinct.  What you see is everything that can be said. Photographic realism could fit here.

The novel is not only the facts, but also there’s a story to tell.  A situation, a predicament the viewer can relate to.  The author/artist guides the reader/viewer through the work where you get the information only as you need it.

The poem takes the same information and filters it through the eyes and interpretations of the author/artist.   Here, not everything is said, leaving much to the imagination of the reader/viewer to interpret as they may.  Here a feeling is implied.  There’s no rules, it’s just painting from your gut (and/or your heart).

When looking at the artist applications of these writing types, there’s no way they can be cut-and-dried separate.  All three have their purpose and place, and I think can even be used within the same painting.  I’ve usually hovered more around the ‘police report’ with some ‘novel’ qualities.  Aside from occasional flashes, ‘poetic painting’ has usually eluded me.  But the tide seems to be turning for this is exactly where I want to go.

Please read the whole post on FineArtViews to get Keith’s full interpretation.  As always, I’m interested in your take.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Animal art, Creative Process, Figures, Horses, Let It Go, My Art, Other Artists and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Painting Intuitively and “Horse Studies #34 and #35”

  1. Pattie Wall says:

    Good one Tracy. You’ve got me thinkin’ too. As a reader, there is nothing I like better than the chance to fill in the missing blanks at the end of a great story..or even during the story. That one thing gives me such power. I think perhaps some viewers can do that with art. That balance between the three referred to here, seems to be difficult to achieve for me. It sometimes happens that others call my paintings ‘beautiful’ or ‘solid’ or ‘strong’ – but I would really like to know specifically what emotes those words. Beauty (or any of the others) could be construed as an emotional response I suppose…but vague. I would think that if you were to achieve that poetry in painting, people would write or speak about your painting in sentences or better yet – volumes, eh? There might be disagreement between two viewers and the impending discourse – interpretation is key. Someone’s work I saw recently would be a perfect example of this and goes beyond the ‘novel’ is – Graydon Parrish – “The Cycle of Terror and Tragedy: September 11, 2001”. Hope you are able to find that poetry as you paint – thanks for sparking interest in the concept.

  2. Tracy says:

    Interesting thoughts, Pattie, thanks.
    I think when someone is compelled to continually look at a piece of work, that can elicit the wordless ‘poetry’ I might be searching for. I agree; I too would love to know specifically what viewers found most interesting about my work, though these days sometimes we’re lucky to get even one-word answers.

    I can only hope that my work is compelling enough to continue to bring them back again and again.

  3. Amazing handwork,I really appreciate your artwork because I also wanted to learn that kind of skills but before I achieve that I need to work hard to enhance whatever my abilities,but thanks because you inspire me and I will do my best to have my own masterpiece

Comments are closed.