Gesture Paintings

Gesture Paintings 1-3, figure studies 5 -10 mins, from class 2/15/2010
oil on panels
(c) 2010 Tracy Wall

For those of you who have been following, lately I’ve been working to create my paintings a little looser without all specific details.  I struggle with it, but that’s my goal.  It sounds so easy.  To those I may have tried to explain it to, they sometimes say, “Well, just do it that way!”  For some reason, it’s just not that easy for me.

Maybe it’s partly my frugal sense telling me not to waste the paint, the support, the time on something uncertain.  Maybe I’m timid to try something new (eeek!) for fear I might screw up a potential good piece of work.  (Never mind that with oils I can just wipe it away and start anew.)   Just a painting habit I want to Let Go of.

Well, there’s no place for timid marks.  To help me work through this, I’m taking a class at the Art Students League of Denver from Michelle Torrez.  She’s a fabulous painter who’s work I’ve always admired.  Side Bar: I’ve never been able to take her class because I had worked the “other job” when her classes were offered.  Changes occurred last fall and now I can.  I guess there are reasons things happen in our lives although not apparent at the time.  :)

She’s putting us through gesture paintings: little 1 minute – 10 minute studies that are forcing me to make quick decisions with paint and go with them.  Asking me to work from my gut.  The object here for me is not necessarily speed, but practicing confidence in brushstrokes.

I’ve done gesture drawings before, but doing it in paint in a whole new animal for me.  There’s been quite a learning curve, but I’m becoming more comfortable with it and love the possibilities. These may not be award winners, but to me they help signify change in the works.  Learning to let go of the need to make every detail just right.

Stay tuned!

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Creative Process, Figures, Goals, Let It Go, My Art, Other Artists and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gesture Paintings

  1. That might just be a lesson for life in general. Hope the class is going great!

  2. Tracy says:

    Yes, Jennifer, sometimes what we think may be trouble actually turns out to be what was best for us. I love it when we see the world working that way!

Comments are closed.