Mornin’ Mug

Mornin’ Mug (sold)
6″ x 6″
oil on panel
(c) 2010 Tracy Wall

I pay attention to different things in my paintings, trying to ‘Let It Go” and not do my usual trek….

This one’s fresh off the easel.  When I’m home in the morning, this is one of my faithful, durable coffee mugs.

Lately I’ve been wondering about how saturated my work needs to be.  Instead of my usual of very vivid intense colors, here I’ve chosen to use more of a gentle palette.  Why yell when you can just speak.

Also too, I’m paying more attention to the edges of shapes.  Trying to keep edges only what’s necessary, start to loose the others.

I’m happy with this one!

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, Goals, Let It Go, My Art, Painting, Still Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mornin’ Mug

  1. bimber says:

    Nice! I like the reflection of the spoon in the mug.

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks bimber. I thought it was important (with that strong reflected highlight) to help give depth and form to the mug. Besides far more interesting! :)

Comments are closed.