Another Cowboy Sunset

Cowboy Study #12
6″ x 5.1″
oil on panel

Just experimenting and playing around these last two posts with ideas.    A little cliche, but the possibilities are endless.

Different artists work in different ways.  Up until now, I’ve always been dependent upon reference photos.  Didn’t always create an exact replica, but had something to go by.

In my new venture to ‘Let it Go‘, I thought I’d try a few straight off the top of my head.  I’ve wanted to loosen up my work for quite some time now and although this  painting style isn’t what I call ‘loose’ or ‘painterly’, by forcing myself to create without a reference I’ve loosened up the limitations.

“Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step.”  
— Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, Figures, Horses, Landscape, Let It Go, My Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Another Cowboy Sunset

  1. Very nice painting, something really calming about it.

  2. Sidney Nolan says:

    i love it! i love how you can see the brushstrokes in the mountain in the background – great work

  3. what colors did you use to make the purple? i always find it hard, with so many different reds and blues to choose!

  4. Tracy says:

    ambig: Thanks, that was my intent: to create that feeling.

    Sidney: thanks! I’ve been working more of that painterly style into my works.

    Rock: You’re so right; there’s many to choose from with so many effects. Although I don’t remember exactly, I would bet that I used ultramarine blue, alizarin crimson, and a dash of cadmium yellow to dull it a bit (along with white to get the lighter values).

  5. These are so fun! Living in the west is great and it provides a lot of wonderful subject matter.

  6. I am not usually a fan of cowboy art but I do really like this one. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Tracy says:

    Thanks Jennifer and Daryle!

  8. Awesome piece of work, the light and dark shades are just right and quite affective. Nice work.

Comments are closed.