2010 Word(s) of the Year

Winter Tree Shadows
7.75″ x 10″
oil on panel

(Edited:  1/11/10 — As a reminder to those unfamiliar, I  learned of the ‘Word-of-the-Year’ concept from multi-talented Christine Kane’s Resolution Revolution post on her blog a while back.)

Last post I reviewed my 2009 Word-of-the-Year ACTION, and how I used it.

On to 2010 Word-of-the-Year.

Looking back at last year’s ACTIONs,  I’ve tried to figure out why taking any particular action might have been hard.  Making changes can be difficult for me.  I may know the change needs to be made, but it still can be a struggle.

I know making changes are the only way toward future growth, but sometimes the future can seem very uncertain with too many risks. Who wouldn’t want to hang on to the comfortable past?

These changes I faced involved lots of areas: maybe it was trying a different painting style or a marketing strategy, maybe it’s changing things in my home, or dealing with lost personal and professional relationships, perhaps trying new health or daily life habits.  Changes were difficult because there was something I was tangled up in that I just couldn’t shake.  Maybe is was a belief, a feeling, or even an actual object; something I was safely clutching that kept me comfortable where I was and not moving forward with confidence, enthusiasm, and a sense of adventure.

So, this leads me my theme for 2010.  I’ll always continue to strive for action, but perhaps my lesson this year is to learn to Let It Go. (I considered narrowing it down to one word, but this rolls off the tongue in such a melodic kind of way.)

This year I’ll be re-looking at my current habits, things, and beliefs to see what’s taking me closer to my vision of an art career and what’s holding me back.  Where am I hanging on to things or behavior patterns simply because that’s how I’ve always done it?

Don’t get me wrong; some are worth keeping.  Routines, behavior patterns, and traditional customs certainly have their place.   When is it necessary to let go and when is it OK to hang on to?   The skill is knowing which ones keep me from what I want to be and where I want to go.   Reminds me a bit of the ‘Serenity Prayer’ by the theologian Reinhold Niebuhr and adopted by Alcoholics Anonymous.

Old habits die hard.  Some I’ve picked up in the past year, some I’ve been trying to get rid of for a long time.  What you resist, persists.  So my theme this year is to recognize what’s holding me back and then to Let It Go.

Enough introspection for now.  On to the New Year!!

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Goals, Let It Go, My Art, Painting, That's Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2010 Word(s) of the Year

  1. Wow! This is so “me” that I may just have to adopt your “Let it go” for 2010. I’ve already turned some things loose in the last few months that nag at me still and just having that particular phrase to say to myself will help. It also helps to know that others go through the same struggles to move forward and experience resistance even when we know the changes are good for us. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. bimber says:

    Great words, Tracy!
    Although from the painting I thought it was going to be “Let it Snow.”

    (=:

  3. Tracy says:

    Thanks Pat. That is one of the reasons I started this blog: to connect with others on the struggles and joys of this art road. Feel free to use “Let it go!” Also, I’d recommend visiting Christine Kane’s Blog post (http://christinekane.com/blog/resolution-revolution-a-better-way-to-start-your-year/), as this is where I found the concept of Word-of-the-Year a few years ago.

    You’re so funny bimber. Thanks for making me smile!

Comments are closed.