Happy New Year Ornaments

Ornaments
6″ x 6.5″
oil on panel

Somehow I just felt compelled to paint ornaments before the holidays left and I’d have to wait until next December.  Those round shapes and reflections were just calling me, however this one was a struggle to complete.

Perhaps my mind is already done with Christmas and I’m moving on to 2010.  I’ve been thinking a lot about the big picture of 2009 and what I’ve learned.  That in turn has me looking forward to the big, bright picture I want to see in 2010.  Lots of deep thoughts making it more difficult to focus on a painting who’s subjects need to be put away.

I’ll expound about my reflections in upcoming posts, but until I get my thoughts composed, Happy New Year to all!!!
May this one be our brightest year ever!

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Calendar, My Art, Painting, That's Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy New Year Ornaments

  1. Hi, Tracy, i think everyone is hoping for and planning for a better year in 2010!!

    my best wishes to you!

    Melissa

  2. Faye says:

    Tracy–this is a wonderful painting. You really nailed the illusion of creating a shiny, round object (not an easy task)! Wishing you all the best for the new year!

  3. bimber says:

    I agree with Faye. For being distracted, the accuracy of the reflections make this a compelling piece for me. I can almost see your reflection in them. (=:

  4. Tracy says:

    Thanks all!
    When painting, I couldn’t take my eyes off of the reflection of the green ornament on the blue one. Just trying to balance accuracy with looseness – sometimes I waiver and sometimes I stay upright.

Comments are closed.