Balanced Seat

Balanced Seat (sold)
24″ x 18″
oil on gallery-wrapped canvas

When the holidays roll around, you can’t help but reminisce about growing up.

Back in the day, I used to ride a horse almost every day after school.  Muscle memory rarely forgets, and although I haven’t ridden in years, I always remember the feel.

I’m trying to train myself to remember the feel of loose brushstrokes when I paint.  Meaning, it’s not completely about the visual results, but the motor skills that it takes to get you there.  (RE: last post of it’s not just about the destination, but the journey too.)

And like learning any motor skill whether it be  scales to a musician, free throws/field goals/putts to the athlete, or tying a surgical knot for the intern, it’s repetition, repetition, repetition.

Or, maybe it’s just a horse, of course.  :)

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Creative Process, Figures, Horses, My Art, Painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Balanced Seat

  1. Jeanette says:

    Tracy, this is a wonderful piece, full of depth. You’ve really captured the solidity of the horse and rider here.

    I was a horse fanatic too, still am to some degree, but I don’t own horses anymore sadly. You’re right, the muscle memory is there and in my head I can feel the movement perfectly.

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Jeanette. When I was young it was the only real extra-curricular thing I did; my summers were nothing else! I think once you’ve ridden with any consistency, it never really leaves you! (Though I don’t know if the chaps fit anymore!)

Comments are closed.