Reflecting Pt 4 — Balanced Life

Aside form the art, I need to have a life.  (What?!?  What’s up with that?)  As much as I love the creative process, “all work and no play makes Tracy a dull girl”.  So I have to make time to balance my life with other things I enjoy and find important yet seem to have neglected.

Action(s):

–>  monitor my diet and my sleep habits; I love food and laying around in bed; but if my body doesn’t work right, neither do I.

–>  keep other job to only what I need; make time for art and life.  No Guilt!!

–> I’ve always loved music; dragged out the keyboard and restrung the guitar.  Playing a little.  Not progressing very quickly, but offers me a diversion

–>  keep hiking; Mother Nature refuels me.

–>  miss seeing and experiencing the pulse of the city, makes me feel part of a larger community; get back to doing that, too.

–>  get back to reading.  I love escaping into a good book, and it’s been way too long since I’ve read some novels (or, read anything besides art journals and the newspaper).

Time I did another self-portrait; somebody told me the red mug on the last one looked like a clown nose.  <Doh!>

Self-Portrait #4
10″x8″
oil on panel

s 09 SelfPortrait4(c)TracyWall

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Creative Process, Goals, My Art, Painting, That's Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflecting Pt 4 — Balanced Life

  1. I just read an article on Mondrian. A great artist? For many. But messed up. He is like Felix in the Odd Couple. When I am deep into work and everything is going well (a little like winning the lottery) I just want my basic needs met and to be left alone. Makes for a tough marriage though.

  2. bimber says:

    Being balanced makes us whole. That’s the Job of my dog and horse… they make sure I get out there.

  3. Tracy says:

    David – thanks for responding. Didn’t know that about Mondrian. I agree that when I’m on a roll, I just want to keep going, but I know that I need to have time away as well to refresh my point of view. (I forgot to add artist’s biographies on to my reading list!) Friends leave me alone when I preparing for a show.

    Bimber – I agree, and my animals provide me that spur as well!

Comments are closed.