Reflecting

Seems like I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting this summer.

I think it’s important to occasionally step back and look at things from a distance to see the big picture.  In order to get where you’re going, you have to know where you’ve been.  And if those places where you’ve been aren’t getting any closer to where you eventually want to be, you need to change course.

My “place I want to be” is a professional full-time artist creating works that are interesting and exciting to me.  (OK massage clients, don’t fret.  I’ll still probably always do a little massage on the side because I enjoy it, but just not quite as much as I currently do.)

I’ve always been on that road to where I want to go, but there’s times the journey slows.  For not quite a year, I feel like I’ve plateaued.  I’ve been resting on the accomplishments I had done, but not quite ready for the next step, whatever that next step may be.

If you’ve been following me here, you’ll remember this has been an issue I’ve been aware of for a while, even going back to my word theme of the year being ACTION.  This word has been my touchstone guide word for the year (instead of resolutions), but I seem to have let it fall by the wayside as of late.  In the coming posts, I’ll explain more as to where I feel like I’ve leveled off and what actions I’m taking.

What reflections have you noticed of yourself lately?

Reflecting (sold)
7 3/4″ x 6″
oil on panel

sm 09 Reflecting (c) TracyWall

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Art, Calendar, Creative Process, Goals, My Art, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.