Why so many horses?

Somebody asked me at my last art show, “Why do you paint so many horses?”

Growing up I used to ride, train, and show horses (hunters – English, the kind that jump over fences).  For 10-15 years it was a huge part of my world, so I’m quite comfortable using them as subjects.  I learned quite a bit about the ups and downs of life and how to handle responsibility as well as the unexpected; when to use a firm leg and when gentle rein is the better route.  Don’t have the chance to ride much these days, but thank you Mom and Dad for giving me those very lucky opportunities!

Horse Study #27 (sold)
6″ x 8″
oil on panel

sm Horse Study #27 (c)TracyWall

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Horses, My Art, Painting, That's Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why so many horses?

  1. sonia says:

    Was I the one to ask you that? No, probably not, as I do see the beauty in horses without wondering why. But I didn’t know you had a history with them. You have a wonderful technique with animals. Missed you at CC Arts Festival! Booths are pricey there, though. I might say I liked the Student League show best… tornadoes always add drama and excitement!

  2. Tracy says:

    Yes, I think you were! Thanks Sonia.

Comments are closed.