Reading the Newspaper

As you may know, many long-established newspapers are folding for a final time and ceasing to publish.  Here in Denver, the Rocky Mountain News published it’s final edition a month or so away from it’s 150th birthday.  I know change is inevitable, but is it always good?

I understand that current news and information now comes from more technologically advanced and efficient sources with newspapers seeming antiquated.  It makes me wonder though if we’re losing something else.

I remember the daily ritual when I was growing up of reading both the morning and the evening paper and carrying that habit through as an adult.

Reading is somehow different for me when it’s paper and ink instead of on a monitor.  I don’t know what the research says about reading comprehension between the two media, but I know when I write, I can edit with far clearer vision when I read a hard copy vs. on the computer.

The time may come when we can’t sit on a Sunday morning and peruse the newspaper.  Call me crazy, but there’s just something special about holding the paper with slightly ink-stained hands and reading what interests you.

Here’s the first of what may be a series of my ‘newspaper paintings’.

Reading the Newspaper
12″ x 12″
oil on gallery wrapped canvas

web-09-reading-the-newspape

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Colorado, Figures, My Art, That's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reading the Newspaper

  1. Pattie Wall says:

    I am so with you on this one, Tracy (my Wall friend). As a teacher, we both know – like a lot of things, holding the item we are reading also stirs that tactile/kinesthetic sense…sitting in front of a computer doesn’t have that mind/body connection. Where I live since leaving my beloved Colorado, where the only news I get is the little town’s paper once a week, I very much miss that nicely formatted RMN. I am sad that it is going away. I try to read the news on the computer, but it just doesn’t have quite the same feeling. I used to love cutting out different articles and photos and sticking them on my fridge or my bulletin board for awhile. You are going to miss it my friend. The other thought is, think what you found as you thumbed through a newspaper? One of the special joys of visiting was getting to buy that newspaper…now – that activity will be impossible.

  2. Pattie Wall says:

    BTW – great art on this one!

  3. Tracy says:

    Thanks Patty! Good to hear from you.
    Yes the News has been gone about 6 weeks. Although the Post is here, it’s just not the same. You’re right, all those things we’ve to from the paper…. (just yesterday!)

  4. Faye says:

    The painting is lovely, great composition. And yes, I agree we are giving up something as we lose newspapers. I shudder to think of the jobs lost.
    And I recall lamenting to a friend once about moving to a new home. He told me it would be okay, that the first time I walked out to pick up my morning paper, coffee in hand, would be the day I knew I was home. He was right.
    I look forward to seeing your other tributes to the newspaper.
    Faye

  5. Jane Hunt says:

    Hi Tracy,
    A wonderful piece! It already feels nostalgic and a bit sad – this has a modern day Norman Rockwell feel to me. I wonder how many generations it will be before kids ask what this guy is doing!
    I hope you apply to the new Colorado blog – I’m pretty sure they are still accepting and you’d be a great addition!

  6. Tracy says:

    Thanks Faye and Jane!
    Yes, newspapers may be a dying breed. :(

  7. Pingback: Painting Changes « ArtStrokes — Tracy Wall’s Art Blog

Comments are closed.