Does the sky really have to fall?

We’re living in a day that the outlook is not rosy.  Economic stats are falling everyday.  People are worrying more, starting to live in fear of “what if’s”.

I came across a post on Christine Kane’s blog.    In it she speaks of living in fear …

“When you take your power back and stop being scared of what others (or the economy, or politics, or your mean ex-girlfriend) can DO TO YOU, you step into the true reality where you get to decide each day how to create your life.”  — Christine Kane, 1-22-09*

At the time I read it,  my work schedule (aka my currnt income sources) were potentially starting to freefall.  <gulp>  To make a long story short, I had signed up for a painting workshop I was really excited about.  The timing and scheduling perfectly  fit, carefully wedged in a tiny slot each week.  I was planning other things around it.

Turns out, the painting workshop had to be rescheduled to another day.  Ack!  Panic!  Worst case scenario!  Can I move my clients to make space?  If I move client A, then the only time I can move them to is where client B is.  Can I move client B?  If I’m able to move A and/or B, will my business suffer?  Can I afford to take yet another financial hit in this economy?

STOP!

I waited to carefully reassess my options without falling into that Chicken Little/The Sky is Falling mode.   Taking on a different attitude as if I had already lost the clients, I proceeded to figure potential scheduling shuffles.  After careful negotiations, I got all the puzzle pieces to fit into place.

I know I live a very blessed life, and I feel very lucky for all I have.  There are many who have suffered far worse, so in no way am I making light of the difficulties some have faced.  But what I learned is to tweak my viewpoint a bit to make it easier to find solutions.  Sometimes fear can be addictive and snowball into something that appears larger that it really is.  Take the power back

In the meantime, the National Western Stock Show and Rodeo has left town, and so has this horse.

Horse Study #25 (sold)
8″ x 5″
oil on panel    $60

sm-09-horse-study-25

*Performer, songwriter, and creativity consultant Christine Kane publishes her ‘LiveCreative’ weekly ezine with more than 4,000 subscribers. If you want to be the artist of your life and create authentic and lasting success, you can sign up for a FRE*E subscription to LiveCreative at www.christinekane.com.

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Art Blogs, Creative Process, That's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Does the sky really have to fall?

  1. Magdalene says:

    Hi! I just found your blog…beautiful artwork!! I love your quote and I read that you created the life you wanted by changing careers to make more time for art!! That is great….I am a speech pathologist and I became a private contractor about 8 years ago…I have loved the flexibility so I can have more time for art but…like you , the speech therapy is much more stable income…..I am always longing for more time and energy to do art.
    I love the horse!!!

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Magdalene!
    I always try to keep in mind to keep a balance, and to use those little spurts of 15-20 mins between tasks to use to paint. As the economy flows, I try to use that push-pull to balance my creative work. Hang in there! We can do it! (I’m determined there’s really no other options!)

Comments are closed.