On a Roll

I want to paint more this new year, so I went looking around the house for an everyday object with recognizable form that no one would expect could make an interesting painting.

A friend asked me yesterday what kind of painting I was working on.  When I told him toilet paper, I’m sure he thought I was nuts.

Remember: it’s not about subject matter, for me it’s about compelling composition of color and value.  I’m on a roll.

On a Roll (sold)
7 5/8″ x 6″
oil on panel

sm09-on-a-roll-ctracywall

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in My Art, Painting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to On a Roll

  1. mirawoodworth says:

    Very nice handling of shadows and composition. It’s unexpected.

  2. Jeanette says:

    Heheheh, ….on a roll…. nice one. And very good painting as well. The roll looks quite soft to the touch. The most mundane things can become art. we just need to see them and share them.

  3. americanhome says:

    I love this! Great compostion.

  4. Bim says:

    I want to squeeze it!

  5. liza says:

    This is brilliant! Fun, humorous and unique. And lovely. And a metaphor for seeing the beauty in all things in life. Whod’a thunk- a monolithic elegant toll of toilet paper!
    Congrats!

  6. Sunny says:

    Bathroom art!!! Every room needs art work!!!

  7. Tracy says:

    Thanks all for the lovely comments! I think the reboot time in December has started to fuel me pretty well. Stay tuned!

  8. Nicole says:

    That is absolutely inspired! May be time to go back to my “hands-on” art. Lately I’ve been playing with photos and computer programs.

  9. Sylviane says:

    Bravo for your lovely painting!
    I like this kind of common subject that we look at with another eye, now.
    Everything is worthwhile, isn’t it?

  10. Con Daily says:

    rollin’ rollin’ rollin’, keep those paintings rollin’

    As always, the depth of color in your shadows call to me. Then, the texture…yes, I do like this one. I need to work on shadows in my images. Inspired by your roll!

  11. Susie Monday says:

    Yep, here’s that subject thing rolling around. Love the blog, just found you.

  12. Long ago, I worked for a newspaper (the late 70’s). There was a period of time when the Ann Landers advice column was all involved in a discussion whether the toilet paper roll should hang with the paper rolling over, or under. It was amusing, but ridiculous. And went on and on. The headline writer, after a few days of this earth-shattering toilet paper discussion, came up with one of the best headlines for that day’s column: Tissue Issue Rolls On. Isn’t that clever?

Comments are closed.