Resolution Revolution

The new year naturally brings on feelings of change: new calendar year, political change, easier to think about breaking bad habits and starting new ones.  Even the sun is starting to stay out longer!  It’s a good time to make a “new start”  with a “clean slate”.    How many times have we made the same resolutions?

I want to try something new this year that I first read about from wonderful singer/songwriter/creative artist/guru extraordinaire Christine Kane.  Here’s an excerpt…..

Why Resolutions Don’t Work

The reason most resolutions don’t work is that they address only one level of your life. The DO level.

It’s the DO-HAVE-BE model. It goes like this:  “I will DO this thing.” (i.e., Lose weight) “So I can HAVE this other thing” (Self-Esteem) and I can BE this thing. (Confident.)

Starting right now, however, we’re gonna turn that around. We’re going to start at a deeper level:  The “BE” level.

The best order for creating positive change in your life is the BE-DO-HAVE model. This means you start from the BE level. When you begin changing on the BE level of your life, then the DO level and the HAVE level follow effortlessly.

When you start only on the DO level, then the blocks on the BE level will often become the obstacles you can’t overcome.

A Better New Year’s Ritual

Several years ago, my friend Kathy and I decided that, instead of making resolutions, we would pick a word that would guide us throughout the year. It would be our touchstone.  It would remind us of living our lives at the BE level.  …….

….. Hold that word in your mind throughout the year, and let your word guide you to take action.

— Performer, songwriter, and creativity consultant Christine Kane publishes her ‘LiveCreative’ weekly ezine with more than 4,000 subscribers. If you want to be the artist of your life and create authentic and lasting success, you can sign up for a FRE*E subscription to LiveCreative at www.christinekane.com.

I am taking this challenge to use one Word of the Year.  In addition, I’m still liking concrete, measurable goals and objectives to break large tasks into smaller steps, and I’ll post some of those later.  Maybe all this will be too much attention splatter and  spread me too thin.  We’ll see as the year progresses.

On to my Word of the Year:  So often I have great and wonderful ideas in my head, but how many are actually followed through?  These may be ideas around art, personal life, my other business (massage), whatever.  The follow through fails to happen for a number of reasons:  What if the idea is stupid?  How long will it take?  Who cares?  What if it doesn’t work?  Can I afford the time?  What if I look stupid?  Who would like this?  What if nobody gets it? etc…

All of these questions, narrowed down, fall into the categories of fear and miscommunication.  Thus, I’ve found I need to find some courage (i.e. no fear) and make more connections (i.e. no one is an island)  It’s nice that I’ve got that narrowed down, but here I sit with two more great ideas.  Now what? You see, I have a tendency to want to plan everything out in my head before I even take step one.  If I had a nickel for every great idea I’ve ever had…..

These great ideas won’t ever come to fruition until I take  ACTION.

“There is usually an inverse proportion between how much something is on your mind and how much is getting done.”  –David Allen, Getting Things Done

So, my Word of the Year is ACTION to help me build courage and connections.  When faced with indecision, waffling, or when I’ve become comfortable on a plateau and not wanting to move from my comfort zone, I’ll look to ACTION to help move me in the direction I need to go.

I’ve got no time to waste! Here’s my first piece since back from my December Reboot.  Although I was a little rusty getting started, it felt good to play with color again!

Time Keeps Ticking in 2009
9.5″x7.5″
pastel on Canson paper

sm-09-time-keeps-tickingctracywall

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Action, Art, Calendar, Creative Process, Goals, That's Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Resolution Revolution

  1. Bim says:

    I love the clock and its many reflections. For many people, 2008 was “takes a licking but keeps on ticking.” ACTION is a good mantra for ’09. It seems like the more time we spend “thinking”, the less time we spend in “action” mode. Thanks for the reminder. You Go Girl!

  2. joy Schultz says:

    Yes yes yes yes yes yes it is ALLLLLLL in BEING

    i AM JOY!!!!!
    and i LOVE IT!!!

    you are SO right on!

    Go everybody! BE what you ARE!!!!

    so much happiness to everyone!
    Joy
    ps i have new blog http://www.joyofmiracles.blogspot.com inspired by A Course in Miracles

  3. Tracy says:

    Bim — you’re so clever with words!!! Thanks for the vote of confidence!

    Joy, — I can actually hear you singing when I read your words. Sounds like it’s to be a banner year for you!

  4. Pingback: Reflecting « ArtStrokes — Tracy Wall’s Art Blog

Comments are closed.