Merry Merry; Take Time to Reboot Yourself

It’s been some time since I’ve posted. 

No, I haven’t jumped ship, been run over by a truck, nor fallen off the face of the earth.  I made the decision to take a short time away from painting.   Here’s the story….

The past month or so, I’ve really been dragging.  Feeling tired and wiped, and feeling guilty about not being more efficient.  Very unfocused.

By the time December hits, I usually start thinking about goals and resolutions for the upcoming new year.  After reading Alyson Stanfield’s ArtBizCoach. com newsletter about acknowledging what you’ve done, it got me thinking about how my 2008 has panned out.  You can’t figure out where you’re going until you see where you’ve been.

Looking back over the year, I’ve made strides in my art career.  I’ve learned more about painting in the last 12 months than I ever knew in the 45 years previous.  I finally feel like my work is just starting to have it’s own voice.   I’ve had quality shows and made my work available for more people to see.  I worked with some wonderful non-profits.  I’ve also got a different mindset about what the direction of my work will be, and a better picture of the marketing to be done.  Suffice it to say, there was more on the list of accomplishments than I realized!

No wonder I was feeling sluggish and wiped.  Not only had I accomplished more than I had originally thought, but I also noticed I ‘ve been pretty much all work and no play.  Someone asked me recently what I did for fun, and I struggled to come up with something; I really had to stop and think about it!  How sad is that? 

I haven’t had much of a sense of balance in my life the past few years; there’s not been a proportionate amont of work and play.  All work and no play makes Tracy a dull girl.

Many times I had too many projects going the same time, and feeling guilty I was never devoting enough full attention to any of them.  Making mistakes. Taking longer to process and problem-solve.  Frustrated that work wasn’t getting done, personal things were slipping.

When those symptoms happen on my computer, I shut it down.  Step away from the desk.  Let rest do it’s healing.  After sufficient time has passed, reboot.  Why don’t I do that for me?

Lori Woodword Simons recently wrote about getting back to what’s important as a guest author on Clint Watson’s Fine Art Views.  In her own friendly, eloquent way, she speaks about storms taking out the power for a few days and how it caused her to see life and the use of her time a little differently.  (And much happier for it!)  She was forced to recreate balance in your daily life.

I’ve got some things in store for 2009 that I’ll share as details become firmed up.

Until then, I plan on making the most of my holiday time reconnecting with family, friends, and the concept of play.  I hope you do the same: take time to check your own balance.  Take the oppurtunity to reboot yourself.

Best wishes to all this Joyful Holiday Season!

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Calendar, Creative Process, My Art, That's Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Merry Merry; Take Time to Reboot Yourself

  1. Jeanette says:

    Merry Christmas Tracy. It is good to step back and regroup when things get overwhelming. I know you’ll be back better than ever.

  2. Faye says:

    Excellent and timely advice– Merry Christmas, Tracy.

  3. Sunny says:

    Love being one of the ones that you are ‘re-booting’ with!!!! You are going to have a wonderful year!

  4. Melissa says:

    I hear you.

    People think I am on vacation full time just because of where I live.

    People think painting is easy and fun. People who don’t paint, haha!

    Maybe I should go someplace, I haven’t been anywhere that was enjoyable for several years!

    great post this time, I might copy cat you, and stop being so self-presured.

    Cheers,

    Melissa

  5. Con says:

    I’m happy to know you are taking some time to play. I’m writing from a mountain hot springs where I have been letting the hot water soak my cares away while thinking a bit about direction and focus of future work.
    We do have to choose, eh? Can’t do it all, no matter how we try. Hope your down time rejuvenates and your year end review provides some inspiration for your future path when you’re ready to boot.

  6. Tracy, I’m glad you took the time to acknowledge your accomplishments. For some people, work IS fun. And that’s what I want it to be for you and other artists. Okay, there might be a day job that gets in the way of the fun, but if you have to work, I hope it’s a little fun.

    I have always loved my work–never minding the extra hours since I get to be around art all of the time. But we all need the balance. I add extra days to my workshop trips to visit museums (is that work???) and galleries. And I also make sure I get to hike, snowshoe, read for pleasure, and watch movies. All of those things not only feed my soul, but contribute to making me a better businessperson. You never know where inspiration will come from!

    Happy New Year!

  7. Tracy says:

    Thanks all for the wonderful comments and support.

    Alyson – Interesting insight about play vs. work. It’s critical for me to have work that I truly enjoy and love, both the art and the massage. For so long, I’ve been trying to put my art into the category of business that I sometimes forget that I just love to do it. Thanks for the new angle!

  8. Pingback: Resolution Revolution « ArtStrokes — Tracy Wall’s Art Blog

Comments are closed.