Cowboy Hat #7

Although I have no new exhibits on the horizon, I thought I’d start to prepare for one as if I did.  Around Denver, January means rodeo as there’s a national one here. Thought I’d get prepped for a show I don’t have yet.

Cowboy Hat #7
16″x12″
oil on canvas

sm-08-cowboy-hat-7-c-tracywall

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Colorado, My Art, Painting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cowboy Hat #7

  1. Melissa says:

    Hi, Tracy!

    Uh oh, watch out! melissa’s commenting!

    You might remember you and I took Alyson’ class together, and from that started blogging. I don’t paint very much, get ‘blocked’ for years at a time. I did show someone one painting on my blog, and he blurted out, “Oh! You must have hundreds of paintings sitting around in your studio!!” Huh?

    It’s confusing to just paint for the painting, isn’t it? Or is it? When I was a kid, I did art all the time, every day, with no show looming, and with no encouragement. But that would really take off any pressure if there wa a show date looming. I’m no good under pressure.

    For you, there will be a show, just not next week, hey?

    OK, good hat! Is the man under the hat wearing it?

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks for commenting Melissa.
    For me, I always enjoy painting, but an upcoming exhibit can help me focus on what type of piece to paint. I sometimes face difficulty reining it in.

  3. Jeanette says:

    I think its great to paint and prep for a potential show. I should be doing the same thing.

    I love the almost shimmery look of light on this hat.

  4. Tracy says:

    Thanks Jeanette, that glow is what attracted me to this subject. (Ok, I accentuated it a bit more, too.) I’m finding a deadline has a way of lighting a fire under me.

  5. Con Daily says:

    It seems the fire is in your brush with your recent paintings. Love the oranges and blues, purple shadows in the one with dog, the bright green in thanksgiving. Keep up the great work. You inspire!

Comments are closed.