“Fall Asleep” and To the dogs

The election is done.  Indian Summer has left.  Life has gone to the dogs. (and that’s not so bad!!!)

Here’s another dog painting I did for the pet benefit.  I’m really happy with the work on this; kind of a milestone for me.  If the composition seems familiar, I had done a pastel painting of it a year or two ago.  Came out ok, but not much punch to it.

This one has a painterly brushiness and texture about it that I just love.  It’s a step in the direction I’ve wanted to go (albeit a small step, but still a step nonetheless).  If you didn’t know it was a black and white dog lying on a hardwood floor in the light from slotted windows, the composition and pattern of light and dark shapes would be of interest anyway.  (ok, my opinion)

Fall Sleep (sold)
18″x14″
oil on canvas
© 2008 Tracy Wall

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Creative Process, My Art, Painting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Fall Asleep” and To the dogs

  1. Jeanette says:

    I love this one Tracy! That painterliness is what I try to achieve in the paintings I do and its real hit or miss for me. I love the light and colours in this. You can feel the warmth of the sun and the see the weight of the relaxed dog.

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks Jeanette.
    Isn’t it funny that you can tell yourself you’d like to paint a certain way, and before you know it, you’re back to painting the way you always have.
    The more things change, the more they stay the same.

  3. Faye says:

    Yes, it is very painterly and the composition is wonderful. And I think I know what you mean about “the more things change the more they stay the same.” I guess we are creatures of habit? Or seek a certain comfort level? I find that when I am trying to hold onto a new concept that I am trying to incorporate into my work, it takes so much more left brain diligence, energy and commitment (like holding a beach ball underwater) that when I relax for even a minute (right brain takes over?) I discover that have gone back to the old way.
    Faye

  4. Tracy says:

    Good observations Faye. (I like your ‘beach ball’ analogy.)

Comments are closed.