Horse Sense

I was horsing around, trying some equine things.

This was spurred by the fact that (a) last weekend, I was back in Wisconsin to see family and spend a little time working at a horse show on my brother’s farm (annual trek since about 1985?), and (b) had a booth in an art festival last weekend, too; sold a charcoal drawing I really loved.

Been feeling lately my drawing skills needed a little exercise, a little flat work, needed to get out and longe my pencil.

Like scales to a musician, I feel artists (me, for instance) need to continue drawing, sketching, and doodling. No matter your usual medium, and whether they be as warm-ups or the final product, it seems like the artistic athlete (me, for instance) benefits from consistent stretching of the creative muscles to keep me flexible and limber.

So I’ve combined the two (charcoal drawing, horses) and began messing around with various techniques on some horse sketches.

Horse Study #20 (sold)
7″x5″
pastel/charcoal on paper
©2008 Tracy Wall

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Animal art, Art, Creative Process, Drawing, Figures, Horses, My Art, Painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.