Art Students’ League of Denver

I’ve been madly trying to paint lots in prep for an art show. It’s time again for the Art Students’ League of Denver Summer Art Market!

The outdoor Summer Art Market will be on June 14th – 15th, from 10:00 am – 5:00 pm each day. See the works of 200+ artists! There’ll be food and music to boot; join us for the fun and frivolities! I’ll be in Booth #11, so stop by and say hello!

I just love taking classes at the League with such knowledgeable staff of working artists. I’ve worked with John Lencicki, Rob Gratiot, and most recently Kevin Weckbach (more on that in future posts); and I’ve only scratched the surface.

A bit of history from the Art Students’ League of Denver website:

Modeled on the famous Art Students League of New York, Denver’s League first opened its doors in 1987 in the Lower Platte Valley with a handful of recognized artists teaching over one hundred students within its first year of operation. Today, located in the historic Sherman School in the West Washington Park area at 200 Grant Street, it engages over 600 students a month and attracts close to 60 noted artists to teach its diverse fine arts classes.

And about the renowned Art Student’s League of New York from their website:

Founded in 1875, the Art Students League has been instrumental in shaping America’s legacy in the fine arts. Many renowned artists – Georgia O’Keeffe, Jackson Pollack, Robert Rauschenberg, Roy Lichtenstein, and Norman Rockwell among them – have honed their skills at the League, which is dedicated to sustaining the great tradition of training artists.

Established by artists for artists, and continuing to hold to its founding principles, the League is an atelier school in which the language of art is taught and developed through immersion in the practices of drawing, painting, sculpture, printmaking and assemblage. With an emphasis on mastering skills and visual thinking, students engage in the process of making art. The format of ongoing classes allows students to learn at their own pace and from prominent artists who have a range of artistic philosophies and approaches. They also learn from their fellow students, many of whom have years of experience and add to the rich atelier learning environment.

The League offers the finest quality of art education for students at all levels. There are no prerequisites for enrollment or membership. By dedicating its tuition fees and a significant portion of its endowment to underwriting the cost of instruction, the League ensures that all who wish to attend can do so at affordable cost.

If you are interested in taking classes, whether you are experienced or just testing the waters, the Art Students’ League of Denver is a wonderful place to explore new worlds.

Sometimes all it takes is a good pair of glasses to see a little clearer.

Pair of Glasses
12″x9″
oil on panel

Pair of Glasses(c)TracyWall

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Art Marketing, Calendar, Colorado, Exhibits, My Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Art Students’ League of Denver

  1. Con Daily says:

    A great pair of glasses, Tracy. Thanks for focusing my sight on the Art League of Denver. I’ll try to make it to the art market on Sunday. Good luck with your show!

  2. Pattie Wall says:

    Hey Tracy…good luck on your show with the ASL. They are such a great group! I had no idea Georgia O’Keeffe once painted there. Your painting made me pour a glass of the light stuff, ha!

  3. Sunny says:

    Tracy, good luck at the art show!! Hope that there are lots of folks looking at your work . . . and buying. Just had to tell you that I had the painting of the tulips that I got from you . . had it framed in a medium dusty blue kind of distressed wood the color of the shadows. (Wht a convoluted sentence!) Anyway . .it goods ABSOLUTELY GREAT! Colors are perfect in the room, and I love it!!!

  4. Melissa says:

    Most amazing, I see a subtle but strong shift in this painting. The surface of the, the, …liquid, and the composition, and colors and brush strokes, you’ve taken a step foreward with your talent.

    If you do more wine glasses, I might suggest you see about displaying in a high-end wine shop. I was taken to such a shop long ago where the prices for a bottle started at $200, and went on to the sky from there. There must be such a shop in Denver.

    I should send you some of my guppies, with their rainbows of color.

    A very nice capture of the transparencies!

    Cheers,

    Melissa

  5. Tracy says:

    Thank you all for the best wishes!

    Con — the Summer Art Market is a fun time. Unfortunately, the Art Students’ League doesn’t house a dark room, so they don’t have photographers in the Market. If you’re in town, stop by!

    Pattie — yes, they really get me in the mind set of being a professional artist (sometimes I lose sight of that). I don’t think Georgia O’Keefe painted in the Denver version of the League. I believe she was in New York, and had already passed when the Denver group started. Think of me when you pop a cork! :)

    Sunny — I’m so glad the tulips work for you! It’s hard to commit to something you only see on-line, so I’m glad it met it’s expectations live and in-person, too.

    Melissa — Thanks for the astute observations! I think you’re right in that this one is a little different, in a direction I am headed. I was paying attention more to the shape of the values and less about the details. I’m glad you like it! That’s a good idea to look in to wine shops in town; I hadn’t thought of that.
    There’s a local artist I know that often works on tropical fish (though more figure studies and not as much the seascapes I’ve seen of yours). Tanya Haynes knows a good fish when she sees it.
    Thanks again for the feedback!

  6. Faye says:

    I LOVE Kevin Weckbeck’s work – how exciting that you got to study with him. I look forward to hearing about it.
    Have you studied with Kim English? He lives and teaches there too, doesn’t he?
    Faye

  7. Tracy says:

    Ditto about Wechbach; it was such a growth-filled 6 months for me! No I haven’t studied with Kim; yes he does teach there though I’m not sure he’s there this fall. I’ll have to check!

Comments are closed.