Getting Back to the Land

While in the middle of painting the flower series (see March/April posts), I felt compelled to start painting landscapes again.  I haven’t for almost a year now, and I’m feeling the need to get back to the land. (My, I’m beginning to sound like Willa Cather.)

As I paint more, I begin to realize more about my painting process: what works, what doesn’t, etc.  I’m learning that as I start a series, it takes me a few to warm up so to speak, get to know the subjects and how I want to approach them.

Trail Study #6  (sold)
8″x10″
oil on panel

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Colorado, Creative Process, My Art, Painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting Back to the Land

  1. Melissa says:

    Very nice! Successful play of light and dark, and hard edges and soft places.

  2. Con Daily says:

    An inviting view of the trail, makes me want to go hiking today.

  3. Tracy says:

    Thanks all!
    I’ve been feeling the need to hike lately; hopefully we get a reprieve from the rain to got out for a bit.

Comments are closed.