Daffodil

I just love the shape of a daffodil flower.  (especially when blanketed by the 2″ of snow we had this morning)  Spring has sprung!

Daffodil
12″x16″
oil on canvas

 Daffodil TracyWall(c)

 

 

About Tracy Wall

I'm an artist and massage therapist living in Denver, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Calendar, Colorado, My Art, Painting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daffodil

  1. Melissa says:

    Ah! Lovely and dramatic! I miss daffodils, and lilacs. I seem to remember daffodils with snow on them, and the snow didn’t hurt them, as it would more tender flowers.

  2. Con says:

    Oh Tracy, your work on this yellow daff is beautiful. The shadows! The color!
    Like Melissa, I too remember snow on daffs, but don’t see any where I live now. My favorite of the spring wildflowers is a wild buttercup called pasque that should be emerging about now. Would love to see you paint the pasques, too, since you have such a way with color and form. I try to capture them with photography and it is difficult sometimes to get an image that matches what my eyes love about these flowers.

  3. blazedanielle says:

    This is just lovely!! :)
    Daffodils are my favorite flower, and you have done it justice!! Great job!

  4. Tracy says:

    Thank you all!

    Yes daffodils, though look delicate, are tough as nails. I just love the horn shape in the center with lacy ripples on the end.

    I’ve not heard of pasques (or wild buttercup); I’ll have to look them up. The first flowers of spring offer such a lovely wake-up call that the seasons are changing.

  5. Melissa says:

    Boyoboy, if you want flowers, go to http://www.davesgarden. http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/
    And for a daily bloom, bloom.com. This one is dangerous, can be a sensory overload!

    Hum, I haven’t looked at the moss and fungi forum yet, bet they have some macro there! I post a lot on this gardening forum, I have started growing stuff instead of painting! But I got my new camera, a Cannon Rebel XTi. Too much and not enough at the same time, I should have gotten a point-and-shoot!

    OK, to the studio with you ,,,,and me, once I go rake that mulch!

  6. Hi Tracy, I love your flower painting and the dog! Is he your pet. What a great dog. Thanks for dropping by http://blog.SoupKitchenWriting.com for Alyson’s blog tour to introduce her book. Anne Randolph http://www.SoupKitchenWriting.com

Comments are closed.